06 April 2011

Golf Malaysia Champion of Champions Champioship

Viva the Champions!

Over the 2 days about 50 birdies were recorded in the Golf Malaysia Champion of Champions Championship often known as ‘Malaysia’s Masters of Amateur Golf’.

Now in its 24th year, the Golf Malaysia’s Champion of Champions Championship is only open to the current Men’s, Ladies and Senior’s champions of all golf clubs throughout Malaysia and Singapore and this year it included participation from club champions in Brunei.

Held at the breathtaking Berjaya Hills Golf & Country Club, March 25-26, the weather was soperfect – in sunny and cool weather condition, Sibu golf club’s Lee Ka Tung, Saujana golf club’s June Yap and Kelab Golf Perhidmatan Awam’s Mahat Bahari, all bested their opponents to emerged the Men’s, the Ladies and the Senior champion divisions, respectively.

Both Ka Tung and June Yap are now three time Golf Malaysia Champion of Champions title holders.
At the prize giving ceremony the three new champions were presented their green jackets ‘Augusta Style’ from last year’s winners.
In the Golf Malaysia Champion of Champions Invitational category, Salehan Othman (8), from Royal Seri Menanti Golf Club shot a two day total nett score of 151 to be the champion. Haji Sazali Md Hasni (10) from Sri Morib Golf Club has 152 nett for second place and Dato’ Lian Chin Boon (18) from Pulai Springs Golf Resort came third at 155 nett.

Novelty Events

Mazda2 - No one won the Mazda2 car for a hole-in-one at hole No. 11.
Callaway Longest Drive winner - Mohd Shanizam Mohd Mohagi (Kinta Golf Club) boomed a distance of 320 metres and Irene Lam Kui Moi (Kelab Rekreasi Tentera Udara) smacked a distance of 240 metres.

Red Bull Nearest to Sun - The six winners were: Azmi Mahmud, Son Tong Leong, Janice Ling, Mohat Bahari, Ruzanah Baba and Chia Kim Sin.

100Plus Nearest to Bunker - The six winners were: Joan Chin, Haji Sildin Sidol, Ibnu Tahir, Rozana Baba, Jacqueline Ng Sau Peng and Haji Sazali Mohd Hasni.

Results - Men (Top 10) Club Scores
Champion Lee Ka Tung (+1) Sibu Golf Club 71, 72 143
2nd: Mohd Musa Fakir (2) Dauau Golf Club 75 72 147
3rd: Nathan Hauser (1) Saujana Golf & Country Club 76 74 150
4th: Azmi Mahmud (4) Kelab Golf Titiwangsa PDRM 73 78 151
5th: Ahmad Redzaudin Ismail (6) Kelab Rekreasi Sri Mahkota 76 76 152
6th: Mohd Shanizam Mohd Mohagi (1) Kinta Golf Club 72 81 153
7th: Chia Kim Sin (3) Pulai Springs Golf Resort 80 75 155
8th: Ali Sahabuddin Jidin (8) Kelab Golf Kuala Kangsar 77 79 156 ocb
9th: Mohd Pizul Hazmi (3) Royal Pahang Golf Club 77 79 156 ocb
10th: Hj Soldin Sidol (4) Staffield Country Resort 77 79 156 ocb

Ladies (Top 10) Club Scores
Champion June Yap (5) Saujana Golf & Country Club 76 77 153
2nd: Irene Lam Kui Moi (5) Kelab Golf Tentera Udara 76 85 161
3rd: Leow Mee Yek (9) Pulai Springs Golf Resort 84 83 167
4th: Ireen Teng (8) Tropicana Golf & Country Club 85 85 170
5th: Shirley Lee Suk Len (11) Labuan Golf Club 89 82 171 ocb
6th: Janice Ling Hui Shin (6) Clearwater Sanctuary Golf Resort 86 85 171
7th: Stella Chau (10) Bukit Jalil Golf Club 94 81 175
8th: Sue Wong (10) Kelab Golf Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah 87 90 177
9th: Bong Moy (9) Palm Resort Golf Club 88 81 178
10th: Doris Yee (7) Kota Permai Golf Club 85 93 178
Seniors (Top 5)
Champion Mahat Bahari (4) Kelab Golf Perhidmatan Awam 80 80 160
2nd: Datuk A.S. Khamis (7) Nilai Springs Golf & Country Club 86 75 161
3rd: Hamdan Zambahari (7) Glenmarie Golf & Country Club 88 82 170
4th: Michael Hon (8) Monterez Golf & Country Club 83 89 172
5th: Abd Ghani Midi (11) Sungai Petani Golf Club 102 89 191
Invitational - Best Nett Over 36 holes (Top 5)
Champion: Salehan Othman (8) Royal Seri Menanti Golf Club 88 79 151
2nd: Hj Sazali Md Hasni (10) Sri Morib Golf Club 87 85 152
3rd: Dato Lian Chin Boon (18) Pulai Springs Golf Resort 93 98 155
4th: Othman Wanchik (11) Sungai Petani Golf Club 89 94 161
5th: Ahmad Danial Mohd Zahaki (14) ILSAS Recreational Club 92 103 167

Overall Best Nett Champion
Ahmad Redzauddin Ismail (6) Kelab Rekreasi Sri Mahkota 140 ocb

Organised by Golf Malaysia and hosted by Berjaya Hills Golf & Country Club, the championship is co-sponsored and supported by Callaway RAZR Golf (Official Equipment and Golf Ball), Heineken (Official Beer), Singleton of Glen Ord (Official Single Malt whisky), ONLY Golf (Official Apparel), SUNPLAY 130 (Official Sun Block), (Red Bull (Official Energy Drink), 100 PLUS (Official Isotonic Drink) and ICE Mountain (Official Mineral Water).

No comments:

Post a Comment