07 October 2010

Watch The STAR PLAYERS in Action!

The CIMB Asia Pacific Classic, Malaysia
A star studded field for the tournament at the Mines Resort and Golf Club from 28-31 October 2010 include Ryder Cup stars Luke Donald and Rickie Fowler; Retief Goosen, K.J. Choi and Robert Allenby. This is in addition to the likes of Ernie Els, Adam Scott, Tim Clark and Jeff Overton.
In addition to these names, CIMB also offered one of its sponsors’ exemptions to South Korean Y.E. Yang. Yang is the first and only Asian born player to win a golf Major when he won the PGA Championship in 2009. At No. 40, Yang is also the highest ranked Asian in the Official World Golf Rankings.
“These are some of the best players in the world. We look forward to the showcase in store at the end of the month,” said Effendy Shahul Hamid, Head, Group Corporate Communications, CIMB Group. “We had also offered a sponsors exemption to Y.E. Yang and are happy to say he has accepted our invitation. Having the only Asian winner of a Major compete here at the end of the month certainly lends additional relevance to the region as a whole,” he added.

The final committed list of PGA TOUR players for the tournament is listed below:
1.      Luke Donald (England)
2.      Ernie Els (South Africa)
3.      Retief Goosen (South Africa)
4.      Martin Laird (Scotland)
5.      K.J Choi (South Korea)
6.      Adam Scott (Australia)
7.      Ryan Moore (USA)
8.      Ryan Palmer (USA)
9.      Tim Clark (South Africa)
10.  Kevin Streelman (USA)
11.  Kevin Na (USA)
12.  Ben Crane (USA)
13.  Robert Allenby (Australia)
14.  Jeff Overton (USA)
15.  Bo Van Pelt (USA)
16.  Bill Haas (USA)
17.  Rickie Fowler (USA)
18.  Charlie Wi (South Korea)
19.  J.B Holmes (USA)
20.  Vaughn Taylor (USA)
21.  Carl Pettersen (Sweden)
22.  Tom Gillis (USA)
23.  Marc Leishman (USA)
24.  Michael Sim (USA)
25.  Heath Slocum (USA)
The first tournament sanctioned by the PGA TOUR in Southeast Asia, the CIMB Asia Pacific Classic Malaysia, will be held from 28 to 31 October 2010 at the Mines Resort & Golf Club. The tournament is co-sanctioned by the PGA TOUR, Asian Tour and the Professional Golf Association of Malaysia (PGAM). In its inaugural year, it will feature an international field of 40 players competing for a US$6 million-prize purse, with the winner taking home a prize purse of US$1 million.
The other players that make up the field of 40 at the CIMB Asia Pacific Classic, Malaysia will be the Top 10 players from the current Asian Tour Order of Merit and five players under sponsor exemptions.

No comments:

Post a Comment