10 July 2010

Eagles at KGPA
The tenth edition of the Golf Malaysia Eagle’s Championship organized by Golf Malaysia’s magazine is a tournament dedicated to golfers who have achieved an eagle during a round of golf and registered as a member of Golf Malaysia Magazine’s Eagles Club.
On June 28, a full field of competitors proudly donned themselves in a stylist Lyle and Scott shirt that has a large Eagle emblem on their chests, took off on a shot-gun start at the challenging Kelab Golf Perhidmatan Awam’s par-72 6,005 metres course.

When the day was done, Lam Kong Foo, Sharifudin Omar, Yau Wai Heng, Laila Hafidah Mohd Ali and Andrew Lim, emerged the A, B, C, Ladies and Invitational top finishers respectively with each taking home a host of prizes including various sets of Thermoskin therapeutic products. But, there was one more champion….this year’s edition also award a Golf Malaysia 30th Anniversary winner for the one who sits on overall 30th spot.
In no effort, Danavandhan Batumalai (13) was crowned the Grand Champion and was instantly spoilt with a one-night stay at Eastin Hotel’s luxury suite for two persons including a bottle of champagne and Singleton single-malt whisky.
“This is totally unexpected. I am so lucky and so happy,” said Danavandhan, still in shocked after receiving his prize courtesy of Eastin Hotel.

Long hitter Lam Kong Foo (7) amassed 40 points including four birdies prevailed both the Division A title (handicap 12 and below) and the Longest Drive challenge with his outstanding tee shot of 246.25 metres at hole 18. His strong endeavor also won him a Wilson Golf Bag sponsored by MST Golf.
“I played very well. My drives were solid. This is my second time playing in the Eagles championship and obviously I am proud and happy to be the Eagles champion,” said Lam who was trailed by three players with 37 points. After a countback, Ganesan Appavoo (9), Khor Soo Huat (12) and Dato’ Shamsudin Ismail (8), were declared second, third and fourth place winners respectively, while Chew Fook Kiong (12) took the fifth spot award.

In the men’s B Division (handicap 13 to 19), the champion’s trophy was decided on countback between Sharifudin Omar (13) and Nik Rahimi Nik Mohd Nawi (17) when the pair signed for 37 points. After the decisive countback, 42-year old Sharifudin triumphed over runner-up Nik Rahimi for the title.
The small difference in points accumulated between all top placing also shows that the participants provided stiff challenges amongst themselves. Due to the competitiveness of the golfers, the third, fourth and fifth place on this division was also determined through countback between three players who each carded 36 points. When the counting was done, Khoo Nee Cheong (14) finished ahead of Azman Wahab (13) and Eddy Eng (18) took up the final fifth.
Yau Wai Heng (20), the 2009 Division C champion, was again triumphant and managed to defend his title for the second time with 36 points.
Chasing closely with one point behind was Wong Yoon Seong (20) who secured second placing; and Lim Lean Kuan (21) was third after a countback from Amir Jamil (23) at 34 points. KK Seah (24), a regular participant in the Eagles tournament wrapped the fifth spot.
Although there were only six women participating in the Eagles Ladies event, all of them still put up an outstanding performance amidst the challenging KGPA layout.
A tight competition was seen especially between Laila Hafidah Mohd Ali (11) and Kim Jooy Eon (16). Laila, the 2008 Eagles Ladies champion once again emerged the winner amassing 37 points to edge out the Korean’s score of 35 points, revealed: “I have been playing in this tournament a few times and everything was so great. My game was further boosted with a birdie on the 16th hole”.
Kim, who was leading on the first six holes by two points, could not maintained her lead after missing some crucial putts on the home nine. “I couldn’t keep up with the challenging green but I will be back to compete in this tournament again next year,” she cautions.
Chin Pet Ha (19) who was the third place winner in last year’s tournament was happy to retain the same position with 31 points. Jessica Chan Sau Wan (16) took the fourth place winner with 30 points, while Ann Tan (14) the defending champion from last year’s tournament, close in with 29 points.
There was a tight finish among the golfers in the Eagles Invitational category between Andrew Lim (18), Samuel Chong (16) and Azhar Abdul Ghani (18) as each amassing 36 points. On countback, Lim became the champion with the runner-up spot went to Chong and Azhar in third. Philip Tan (22) was not to be outdone in fourth place, he also won the Nearest-to-Pin contest with a distance of 0.82 cm.
In other novelty events, Mat Nawi Ibrahim earned the Nearest-to-Bunker prize of a Wilson golf bag; while Han Chong Chin bagged two prizes winning the Bull’s Eye and the Nearest-to-Pin with a distance of 2.25 metres for a SeeMore Putter.
There was no taker for the hole-in-one prize of a Tiggo car sponsored by Chery Alado but there were plenty of lucky draw prizes, including Singleton Single Malt whisky, watches, and crates of Heineken and buffet dinners at the Eastin Hotel.

Organised by Golf Malaysia, this year’s Eagles championship, is fully supported by Lyle and Scott the official apparel, Thermoskin, MST Golf, Ho Yan Hor (Drinho), Eastin Hotel, TanMan the official sunscreen wipes, official drink Gatorade and Bleu Mineral water, The Singleton Single Malt whisky, Heineken Beer and Chery Alado.
Golf Malaysia’s Eagles Championship 2010 Results
Division A (handicap 12 and below)
Lam Kong Foo (7) 40 points
Ganeson Appavoo (9) 37 points ocb
Khor Soo Huat (12) 37 points ocb
Dato’ Shamsudin Ismail (8) 37 points
Chew Fook Kiong (12) 36 points

Division B (handicap 13 to 19)
Sharifudin Omar (13) 37 points ocb
Nik Rahimi Nik Mohd Nawi (17) 37 points
Khoo Nee Cheong (14) 36 points ocb
Azman Wahab (13) 36 points ocb
Eddy Eng (18) 36 points ocb

Division C (handicap 20 to 24)
Yau Wai Heng (20) 36 points
Wong Yoon Seong (20) 35 points
Lim Lean Kuan (21) 34 points ocb
Amir Jamil (23) 34 points
K. K. Seah (24) 33 points

Ladies Division
Laila Hafidah Mohd Ali (11) 37 points
Kim Jooy Eon (16) 35 points
Chin Pet Ha (19) 31 points
Jessica Chan Sau Wan (16) 30 points
Ann Tan (14) 29 points

Invitational Category
Andrew Lim (18) 36 points
Samuel Chong (16) 36 points
Azhar Abdul Ghani (18) 36 points
Philip Tan (22) 35 points
Dato’ Lee Kee Hock (18) 34 points

Eagle’s Novelty Events
Longest Drive winner (Hole 18): Lam Kong Foo (246.25 metres)
Nearest-to-Line winner (Hole 9): Philip Tan (0.82 cm)
Nearest-to-Bunker (Hole 3): Mat Nawi Ibrahim (4 metres)
Nearest-to-Pin winner (Hole 11): Hou Chong Chin (2.25 metres)
Bull’s Eye winner (Hole 11): Han Chong Chin
Golf Malaysia 30th Anniversary Champion – Overall 30th placing
Winner: Danavandhan Batumalai (13) 36 points

No comments:

Post a Comment