05 April 2010

Club Champions of Clearwater Sanctuary are the 2010 Champions

Mohd Shanizam Mohagi (handicap 0) and Janice Ling Hui Shin (13), the club champions of Clearwater Sanctuary Golf Resort in Batu Gajah, Perak, created history when they emerged victorious in their respective categories at the 2010 Golf Malaysia Champion of Champions Championship.

For the first time in twenty-four editions of this prestigious amateur tournament, club champions won on their home ground.

(from left) Mohd Shanizam Mohagi, Janice Ling Hui Shin and Datuk AS Khamis are the champions at the 2010 Golf Malaysia Champion of Champions Championship.
Mohd Shanizam’s victory came after a nail-biting three-way play-off with John Pang (3) and K. Murughan (5), after all three carded a total of 151 strokes over 36 holes.

Leading by two strokes up to the 16th hole on the second and last day of the championship, Mohd Shanizam said he was nervous during the play-off, which was his first. “Luckily I managed to control my nerves during the play-off. It was an unforgettable moment and I broke the tradition of not having the host win the championship.”

Pang, who edged out Murughan for the runner-up spot, related his experience during the thrilling play-off: “On the first play-off hole, I thought my ball would fall in for a birdie but unfortunately it didn’t. And on the second hole, I became more nervous since Hole No. 9 is considered one of the toughest par-4 holes on the course. Sad to say, I bogeyed the hole and the championship went to Shanizam.”

Murughan, however, was happy after his sixth play-off. He revealed: “I was not nervous at all during the play-off, but I pushed my tee shot to the right and ended up with a double bogey. Anyway, that’s all part of golf. I am just happy I played better than yesterday – much better!”

Overnight leader Sameer Raj Kukreja (4) from Titiwangsa Golf Club faltered in day two, carding a lacklustre 82 to finish fifth, one stroke behind Jimmy Chia Kee Joo (1) from Kota Permai Golf & Country Club, who shot identical 76s.

(from left) Mej Kamis Sanwani, Hj Ahmad Affendi Pawan Teh and Lee Kuan Meng protecting their skin from the hot sun with the Mulligan Sunscreen Wipe from TanMan Sun Products 

The Ladies’ Champion category was also witness to tense competition. Janice, who trailed eventual runner-up Sharon Lau May Yen (4) by two strokes when the second day started, came back with a respectable 3-over 75 to win the title by three shots.

“My putting finally came in. I was not that good off the tee but my short game saved me a lot,” Janice confided. “After knowing that I am the champion, I felt so relieved because I was under a lot of pressure and was also very nervous. I am also very happy now and would like to thank my parents and my coach, Terry Adcock, for guiding me to where I am now.”

The youngest player of the field, Sarfina Serethran (11) from Bukit Jalil Golf & Country Resort, was satisfied with shooting 79 and 81 for a 160.

“Being third is not bad at all. I could have done better but many of my putts lipped out. I will definitely try again next year,” said the 13-year-old Sarfina.

Seasoned golfer Datuk AS Khamis (7) won the Seniors’ Champions category after collecting a total of 165 over two days. This category was introduced for the first time in this annual tournament as a special treat in conjunction with Golf Malaysia Magazine’s 30th anniversary.
Datuk AS Khamis using the Nikon Laser Rangefinder

“It feels great to be the champion among the champions! And this championship is a true test of skill, patience and perseverance, as the course is playing long for us in the Seniors’ category,” said this champion from Nilai Springs Golf & Country Club. “To us, there is no par-4: all are par-5 and above! I ended up having to use my driver and 3-wood all the time.”

This esteemed amateur championship was successfully organised by Golf Malaysia Magazine and Clearwater Sanctuary Golf Resort, the host club, with the magnanimous support from co-sponsors Berjaya Air (together with Berjaya Hotels & Resorts), Boehringer Ingelheim (Pharmaton), Nikon Malaysia, TanMan (the official suncare), Gatorade (the official sports drink), Heineken (the official beer), Black ‘99’ Whisky (the official whisky), ONLY Golf (the official apparel), and Sri Damai Chalet and Impiana Hotel Ipoh (official hotels).
Gatorademen (from left) Mohd Nazri Husin, Muhidin Husin and Shamsuddin Ariff stay hydrated on the course with Gatorade.

Final Scores
Men’s Champion of Champions 2010
Champion : Mohd Shanizam Mohagi (0) 74, 77 = 151
Runner-up : John Pang (3) 75, 76 = 151
Third : K Murughan (5) 79, 72 = 151
Fourth : Jimmy Chia Kee Joo (1) 76, 76 = 152
Fifth : Sameer Raj Kukreja (4) 71, 82 = 153
Sixth : Zainal Abidin Saini (4) 80, 75 = 155
Seventh : Hj Mohd Jaafar Muda (5) 77, 79 = 156
Eighth : Jeff Yong (2) 77, 80 = 157 ocb
Ninth : Tan Vi Kung (3) 82, 75 = 157 ocb
Tenth : Mohd Hafsam Tan Abdullah (7) 80, 77 = 157

Ladies’ Champion of Champions 2010
Champion : Janice Ling Hui Shin (13) 77, 75 = 152
Runner-up : Sharon Lau May Yen (4) 75, 80 = 155
Third : Sarfina Serethran (11) 79, 81 = 160
Fourth : June Yap (7) 81, 81 = 162
Fifth : Ireen Teng Kim Geok (8) 82, 84 = 166

Seniors’ Champion of Champions 2010
Champion : Datuk AS Khamis (7) 85, 80 = 165
Runner-up : Sham Chee Keong (1) 86, 84 = 170
Third : Hj Mohd Salleh Sulaiman (9) 84, 87 = 171
Fourth : Wan Mat Wan Sulaiman (10) 85, 91 = 176
Fifth : Md Saduan Said (16) 93, 93 = 186

Nett Champions

(over 36 holes)
’s: Mej (R) Md Nasir Hanapiah (11) 139
: Janice Ling Hui Shin (13) 126

Novelty Events

Nikon Longest Drive (Day 1): Jason Voon (265 metres)
Nikon Longest Drive (Day 1): Damian Chin (232 metres)
Longest Drive (Ladies – best of two days) : Sharon Lau (215 metres)

Special Prize in Conjunction with Golf Malaysia’s 30th Anniversary
Overall 30th Place : Ireen Teng Kim Geok

1 comment:

  1. nice blog.. have a view of my blog when free.. http://www.lonelyreload.blogspot.com .. do leave me some comment / guide if can.. if interested can follow my blog...